I teach classical Hatha yoga but practice mainly Isha Hatha yoga. I am qualified to teach Classic Hatha but not Isha Hatha. The training required to be a recognised Isha teacher is at present out of my reach.

My aim is to introduce you to Classic Hatha with the hope that on your own you will discover and take up Isha Hatha.

The beginner’s programs offered by the Isha Foundation are:

Inner Engineering (with Shambhavi Mahamudra)

Upa Yoga – a set of 10 powerful practices that activate the joints, muscles and energy system, rejuvenating the entire system.

Angamardana – a series of 30 processes to invigorate the body and reach peak physical fitness and mental health.

Surya Kriya – a potent 21-step yogic practice of tremendous antiquity, designed as a holistic process for health, wellness, and complete wellbeing.

Yogasanas – a set of powerful postures to elevate one’s consciousness, stabilize one’s mind, emotions and energy system, and decelerate the aging process.

Bhuta Shuddhi – a process of purifying the five elements within the human system leading to harmony and balance.

Jala Neti


Inner Engineering (IE)

This is a multi-day program and can be considered as the core of the Isha Foundation. On the last day of the program you will be initiated into the Shambhavi Mahamudra Kriya (Shambhavi).

It is possible to do most of the Isha beginner programs without attending IE but Shambhavi is the foundation which everything else is built upon, to it is best (at some point) to complete IE and Shambhavi.

Upa Yoga

The word Upa roughly translate as “pre”. These are simple exercises that can be practiced and taught by anyone, and are perfectly safe.

They consist of:


This is the most dynamic and energetic program. Every part of the body is worked on and requires no fitness equipment. It can be practiced even in a small area (2mx2m). Those that are proficient at Angamardana can complete the process in 25 minutes but I find that 45 minutes to be a more realistic time frame.

Surya Kriya